Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce

gluten free hoisin sauce recipeHoisin sauce is a Chinese dipping sauce. The word hoisin is a romanization of the Chinese word for seafood as pronounced in Cantonese.

(FYI…despite the literal meaning, hoisin sauce does not contain seafood, nor is it typically used with it.)

Commercially made Peking-style hoisin sauce ingredients often include starches such as sweet potato, wheat or rice, and sometimes preservatives or coloring agents.

So…don’t expect the stuff at the store to be gluten free! As is often the case, your best bet is probably to make your own. Here’s our favorite version:

Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce

1/2 cup gluten free soy sauce
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup honey
1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tbsp. sesame oil
2 tbsp Srichia (rooster) sauce, to taste
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Mix all this stuff in a bowl with an immersion blender, or by hand, until well combined.

(By the way, if you’re enjoying this article, you may want to subscribe to our free meal planning newsletter; we’ll send seven amazing dinner recipes and a shopping list to your inbox each week. Plus, you’ll be helping us feed the hungry, and teach nutrition, shopping, and hands-on cooking classes to at-risk teens!)